Sunday 27 May 2018

2018 World Crokinole Championship Fantasy Pool

Did you not pick Vegas in your Stanley Cup bracket and are starting to feel a little foolish? Well, you’re not alone. Is your knowledge of the professional crokinole circuit vastly superior to that of the NHL? Well, join the club.

Join the club of people willing to put their ego on the line that is, by filling out a roster for the 2018 WCC Fantasy Pool.

Last year, Nathan Walsh became Fantasy Pool champion, joining the esteemed ranks alongside Roy Campbell and Clare Kuepfer as previous winners. Will one of them become the first two-time champion? Will there be new champion? Will it be you? You will get to play a part in deciding if that is the case.

The rules are simple (and the same as ever): 
1. Pick the best 8 player team consisting of:
2 players from Group A
2 players from Group B
2 players from Group C
and 2 players from Group D.
2. The higher up your players finish, the more points your team earns.
3. Whoever has the team with the most points will win the coveted title of Crokinole Fantasy Champion, and bragging rights until their title is challenged next year.

NOTE: Fantasy Pool results are limited to the Competitive Singles category.

The separation into 4 different groups is designed to spread out the talent, so a the winning team will require a strong showing from many different players who outperform their expectations.

This year, the groups were divided based on 2018 NCA Tournament results. 
Group A - Any player with a victory on the 2017/2018 NCA Tour.
Group B - Any player who finished in the Top 4 of a 2017/2018 NCA tournament.
Group C - Any player who finished in the Top 8 of a 2017/2018 NCA doubles event, or Top 12 of an NCA singles event.
Group D - Any player not listed in Groups A, B or C. As a guide, a list of notable players have been provided.

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
Justin Slater
Nathan Jongsma
Ray Kappes
Randy Harris
Ray Beierling
Jason Beierling
Kevin Bechtel
Rueben Jong
Nathan Walsh
Tony Snyder
Lloyd Wiseman
Ezra Jantzi
Jon Conrad
Dave Meijer
Steve Wiseman
Dale Henry
Clare Kuepfer
Justin Martin
Dave Brown
Ab Leitch
Connor Reinman
Jonathan Phillips
Matt Brown
Greg Pinel
Robert Bonnett
Jeremy Tracey
Dwayne Campbell
Cathy Kuepfer

Nolan Tracey
Roger Vaillancourt
Barry Kiggins

Roy Campbell
Neil Cook
Kevin Brooks

Fred Slater
Tom Johnston
Lawson Lea

Brian Simpson
Rex Johnston
Rob C Mader

Andrew Hutchinson
Howard Martin
Merv Wice

Eric Miltenburg
Wilfred Smith

Michael Meleg
Robert Weeks

Wayne Scott
Peter Tarle

Len Chard
Christina Campbell

Beverly Vaillancourt
Derek McKie

Peter Carter

Ron Reesor

This is where a little inside information can make the difference. If you know of a real ringer coming in, or you want to take a chance, put then in your lineup.

Points will be awarded as follows:
1st - 100
2nd - 90
3rd - 85
4th - 80
5th-8th - 70
9th-12th - 65
13th-16th - 60
17th-20th - 50
21st-25th - 45
26th-30th - 40
31st-35th - 35
36th-40th - 30
41st-45th - 25
46th-50th - 20
51st-60th - 15
61st-70th - 10
>71st - 5

To solve the issue of not knowing who is attending the event, there will be printouts provided at the tournament to set your Fantasy team at the last minute. Entries will be accepted online, and in person, until 1:30pm EST on June 2nd, 2018. 

That being said, feel free to comment below on your strategy and current picks to get a discussion rolling.

Good luck and have fun!


  1. Might change things up day of, but for now I'm going with:
    -Slater, Reinman
    -Beierling, J Tracey
    -Kappes, T Johnston
    -Brooks, Mader

    (And, just for fun, Conrad and Reinman will win doubles and N Walsh will have top 20s)

  2. Based on the score cards I saw in the top 16 the best choices would have been:
    A - J. Slater (1) and J Conrad (2)
    B - J. Beierling (4) and A Hutchinson (5) or R Campbell (t6)
    C - D Campbell (t6) and T Johnston (t6)
    D - K Brooks and R Tracey